Monday, 14 November 2011

Rumours five PBB MPs to be dropped not discussed – CM

Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu Sarawak
KUCHING: Rumours that five PBB members of parliament would be dropped in the coming general election seem to remain mere speculation for now.
Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud revealed that the subject was never discussed at the pre-council meeting at  PBB headquarters yesterday, insisting that the meeting was purely to prepare BN assemblypersons for the State Legislative Assembly sitting which begins today.
“The discussion today (Sunday) is purely on the pre-council meeting, discussing what members of the state assembly have in mind (questions in their mind) and what to expect in the next DUN session,” stressed Taib when met by reporters after chairing the meeting.
Regarding the rumour, he simply said: “It was not discussed.”
For now, the guessing game remains as to who among the Barisan Nasional (BN) members of parliament  would be dropped.
Tradition has it that the state BN will only announce publicly its candidates as close as possible to nomination day.
It was speculated that as many as five new faces are to contest as PBB candidates under the BN ticket in the 13th general election following rumours that five would be dropped for various reasons.
The grapevine mentioned that the individuals to be dropped would be Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Deputy Minister Datuk Rohani Abdul Karim (Batang Lupar MP), Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (Santubong MP), Nancy Shukri (Batang Sadong MP), Dato Sri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Taib (Kota Samarahan MP) and Dato Sri Dr Mohd Leo Michael Toyad (Mukah MP).

No comments:

Post a Comment